Top 5 Screwball Comedies

We all love a screwball comedy! They’re completely insane, and hilariously funny. You can never go wrong with one of those gems. So here is my top 5 Screwball Comedies. These are MY favorite comedies, so this isn’t, like, the official top 5 or anything. P.S. I didn’t include The Philadelphia Story because I think of it more as a romantic comedy than a screwball comedy.

5. The Awful Truth (1937) – Irene Dunne is priceless as always and actually got an Oscar nomination for this. Didn’t win, shame, but this is still probably her most memorable performance. She’s insanely funny. Her and Cary Grant always made a fantastic duo.

4. Twentieth Century (1934) – Ohhh, this takes the red velvet cake for the craziest, most bonkers screwball comedy ever. Seriously, the train sequence is to die for. I saw this at the BFI in London and everybody went nuts over it. John Barrymore gives a great performance, as does Carole Lombard. Oh, I love Carole Lombard!

3. My Man Godfrey (1936) – See, I told you I love Carole Lombard. ‘Godfrey loves me, he put me in the shower!’ Try keeping a straight face.

2. The Lady Eve (1941) – There’s a snake in this. That’s how crazy it gets. And this is probably the most sophisticated of them all, as well. Barbara Stanwyck, Henry Fonda and Charles Coburn and his eye monocle. Awesome.

1. Bringing up Baby (1938) – Duh. Like it was going to be anything else. Kate, Cary, the leopard and George. And the dinner scene which is still one of the funniest things ever put on screen.
18 thoughts on “Top 5 Screwball Comedies

    1. Yeah, it’s one of the best genres. But it wouldn’t work today, I don’t think. I think every genre could potentially fit into any era, except for screwball comedy. I think it’s probably the ‘signature genre’ of The Golden Age of Hollywood.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Olivia

    I actually never stopped to think of how I would categorize TPS but I’ll agrees with you; I do think it’s better suited as a romantic comedy than screwball. It’s romance to screwball what Hitch’s suspense is to horror.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. caracoleta07

    Great genre without a doubt…

    I still so many to watch though… Love Crazy, Libelled Lady, The Miracle of Morgans Creek, 20th Century, My Man Godfrey, …

    I completely agree on The Philadelphia Story being more of a romantic comedy.

    I love all your choices, except for those two I still haven’t watched

    My top 5 would probably be:
    . Arsenic and Old Lace
    . Holiday
    . Ninotchka
    . The Lady Eve
    . You Gotta Stay Happy

    Honourable mentions to The More the Merrier & You Can’t Take It With You

    In more recent years, I adore these 3
    – Around the World in 80 Days
    – Intolerable Cruelty
    – Laws of Attraction

    Liked by 1 person

      1. caracoleta07

        I figured at least Holiday almost did ^_^
        I absolutely adore Arsenic and Old Lace. Rewatched it somewhere in the last year and might do so again before the month is over

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jean Arthur should have been mentioned with several of her screwball comedies that she made like one with Charles Coburn and another “You Can’t Take It With You” with Lional Barrymore and James Stewart. Leaving out Jean Arthur was a sin of omission.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t leave her out. These are MY favorite screwball comedies. Not the best screwball comedies. None of her movies unfortunately made it onto my top 5, not because I don’t like her, but because these 5 are my favorites. I might update this with a top 10 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

