Katharine Hepburn

Katharine_hepburn_woman_of_the_year_croppedThere’s really nothing I can say about Katharine Hepburn that hasn’t been said a million times. There’s nothing I can tell you that you don’t already know. Her four Oscar wins, her iconic status, her incredibly long career, her relationship with Spencer Tracy… it has all been written about countless times. All I can tell you is that, she is my idol. The way she lived her life and the way she carried herself will always be an inspiration to anyone who knows about it. One can only hope to be remotely like her. Of course, that’s absolutely impossible. She, as I’m sure you know, was one of a kind. ‘Ahead of her time’, people say. I detest that expression, but if there’s ever been anyone to whom it applies perfectly, it’s Katharine Hepburn. Some people say she’s overrated, some look down on her off-screen relationship with Spencer Tracy and some can’t stand her Connecticut high-pitched voice. In my eyes, she can do no wrong. Whenever I watch one of her movies, there’s always that sense of comfort. Her personality shines through (which is why some people think she always played herself) and you know that, no matter what happens, you can always rely on Kate to ‘bring it’. Needless to say, I would strongly recommend you read her autobiography ‘Me: stories of my life’. It’s probably the most inspirational book you’ll ever read. And as you can expect, she is always fascinating, as she blatantly said on her interview with Dick Cavett in 1973, which is one of the greatest things you’ll ever see. At some point, she tries to rearrange the furniture. Why, you ask? Because she can, she’s Katharine Hepburn.

8 thoughts on “Katharine Hepburn

  1. caracoleta07

    For some reason all I could think of while reading this was that she always took cold showers
    I blame it on our morning reading those embarrassing stories and on the cold I have

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mike

    I knew this piece was coming. 🙂 Your enthusiasm for her definitely shines through here,Carol. I also read “Me” and saw her on the Cavett show rearranging the furniture. lol.She’s always been one of my favorites. I think I mentioned on FB once that I sat behind her at a Broadway play( I think “the plough and the stars”). I didn’t go up to her as I didn’t want to disturb in her personal time.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

