Grace Kelly, strike a pose…

rear-window-1954-wallpaper-5My good friend Virginie asked me if I’d like to participate in The Grace Kelly Blogathon for her birthday (Nov. 12), where Classic Hollywood Bloggers come together and do a collective blogathon about a certain subject regarding Classic Hollywood. So of course I said yes. I had no trouble choosing the subject: Rear Window (1954). But I thought I’d do something a little different. I thought, instead of just talking about the movie, which for the record I could do for hours, I’d like to talk about her outfits and how well her fashion icon status blends with this movie. Her outfits, designed by the very fantastic Edith Head, are just to die for and every one of them has a particular significance to the movie. When we are first introduced to her character, she is wearing a beautiful, extremely stylish black and white dress. Through this, we are being told that she is a wealthy, worldly high society girl, who knows how to dress to impress. Then there’s the beautiful eau de nil suit. Green and white, and with a lovely set of accesories, including a hangbag in which a pink nightgown rests. She’s a sophisticated girl, with a keen sense of adventure and excitement. We move on to the black dress. Hitchcock knew how to use darker colors to enhance the pivotal moment in his films (Dial M for Murder (1954) comes to mind). In this one, this is the dress she wears when she finally realizes what Jeff’s fascinating with his neighbors is all about: one of them is a murderer. And then there’s the print dress: a lovely, lively, colorful dress that can only mean that she is at heart a down-to-earth woman, and she wants Jeff to know it. Finally, in the last scene of the film, she’s wearing jeans and a red top. Casual, suitable for any kind of adventure that Jeff has his sights on. She wants to be a part of his life and this is her way of showing it. All of these wonderful outfits, combined with Lisa Freemont’s strong personality, make one heck of a character and take her fashion icon status to the next level.

8 thoughts on “Grace Kelly, strike a pose…

  1. Pingback: The Wonderful Grace Kelly Blogathon Is Here! | The Wonderful World of Cinema

  2. Awesome post Carol! 😀 I loved how you analyze Grace (Lisa)’s personality through her dressing. It was very interesting! It makes me think a little about my post on Cecil Beaton’s costume in My Fair Lady 🙂 https://thewonderfulworldofcinema.wordpress.com/2015/02/18/31-days-of-oscar-blogathon-2015-week-2-the-crafts-my-fair-lady-and-the-outstanding-costumes-of-cecil-beaton/

    And I have to say I’m so jealous of her beautiful costumes in this film! Thanks so much for your participation to the blogathon 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The use of colour all through Rear Window is fantastic, and her outfits are very much part of that – very interesting to look at them in this way. I’ll have to watch it again soon and keep an eye on what Kelly is wearing!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. caracoleta07

    I liked your take on Rear Window
    Edith Head was a wonderful designer

    I cannot think about her first b&w dress and not hear the words “Lisa. Carol. Freemont” in my head ^_^ Never forgot the name of her character because of the way she introduced herself while turning on the lamps

    When I see the green dress I can only think of of The Birds

    The memory of the black dress had completely escaped my mind, with is unforgivable because it’s stunning

    The print dress and the first one are the ones that are most easily associated to the movie in my opinion.

    For some reason I though the jeans and red shirt came before, came before. Had completely forgotten about the last scene. Don’t kill me Carol. I’ve only watched the movie 2 or 3 times so far

    As I’ve only watched Dial ‘M’ For Murder that fact had completely escaped me. Very interesting indeed

    Good job 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

