‘Clang clang clang went the trolley…’

TrolleyMediumShot225h

I’ve always said that if I could have witnessed the shooting of any scene from any classic movie, it would be ‘The Trolley Song’ scene from Meet me in St Louis (1944). It is without a doubt my favorite musical number of all time. This, to me, is the pinnacle of a musical number. And the really impressive thing about it is that, it just seems so natural. So ‘in the moment’. It’s not as visually stunning as a Busby Berkeley number, and there’s no dance routine at all. It’s just a wonderful piece of musical joy. And it doesn’t hurt that the whole scene is led by possibly the most talented woman of the 20th Century, the amazing Judy Garland. She has never looked so happy and beautiful, and in this movie, she proves yet again that there was nothing she couldn’t do. And this scene was all done in one take. One take! I just find that incredible. The whole movie is fantastic (it also gave us the endlessly covered ‘Have yourself a Merry little Christmas’) but ‘The Trolley Song’ will always take the cake for me.

2 thoughts on “‘Clang clang clang went the trolley…’

  1. caracoleta07

    Oh you so love this movie!!!
    I’ve only watched it once and what remains more vividly in my memories were the colours. Very bright and full of life, this movie was.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

