Thoughts on Without Love (1945)

Lately, I’ve been trying to watch movies that I haven’t watched in a long time. So, last night I saw Without Love (1945) for the first time in maybe three or four years. The reason I hadn’t watched it for such a long time is because I keep some DVDs at my mom’s house for when I’m there for the holidays, and that was one of them. But the last time I was there, I decided to bring it back with me ’cause I realized I hadn’t seen it for ages. Anyway, it’s such a lovely movie. Like with any Tracy/Hepburn movie, it’s an absolute delight to watch them two light up the screen. It’s a charming, little movie about two people who marry without being in love with each other. Or so it seems. Even though it’s not necessarily a great, brilliant movie, there are so many lovely, little scenes in it that are just wonderful. The scene when Kate talks about her late husband is one of them. It’s both heart-breaking and heart-warming. In fact, the entire scene when the two of them are talking about love and past loves and what it all means, is fantastic. Oh, and Lucille Ball is in it too. Get ready to laugh.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Without Love (1945)

Leave a Reply

