Summer…

cake-champagne-city-date-Favim_com-1018245

Summer’s great, but because I live in a big city, sometimes it gets a little too hot and you just don’t know what to do with yourself. I mean, usually, I’d be going back to my hometown for a week or two, go to the beach and all that, but it’s going to be a very hectic summer for me here, at least for a few weeks, so I’ll just have to make do in the meantime. And one of the things I love to do, that gets me all summer-y is watching summer-themed movies, or at least movies that remind of summer anyway. I think I’ve created a sort of tradition with La Piscine (1969), as well as To Catch A Thief (1955). I love those two movies, especially Thief. It’s one of my favorite Hitchcock films, and it just screams summer to me. La Piscine, on the other hand, is incredible and so very European (and I mean that in the very best way possible). Hot and cool, it’s pretty much a summer movie with a story in it, rather than the other way around, if that makes sense. I also love Summertime (1955), which I can watch pretty much anytime, but it’s just especially great to watch it in the summer. Hmm, I feel a marathon coming on…

Leave a Reply

