The greatest blog post ever written!

960.jpg

I love movie taglines. I love the fact that nobody has actually really nailed the art of the tagline. Then and now. For the most part, movie taglines are usually so weird and random. Like, every other crime movie always seems to be advertised as ‘the biggest crime ever committed!’ It’s actually quite fun looking up movie posters and reading the taglines, because they’re so repetitive and interchangeable and they often do not reflect the film at all (looking at you, All about Eve). Mind you, I understand completely the purpose of a tagline and how hard it is to fit a whole story into one sentence, so I’m saying this with the biggest love in my heart. It’s all in jest.

So I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite movie taglines.

Here we go!

All about Eve (1950) – ‘It’s all about women and their men!’ It absolutely isn’t.

Double Indemnity (1944) – ‘It was love and murder at first sight!’ Every single film noir ever made.

The Third Man (1949) – ‘You’ve never met anyone like him!’ Fair enough.

Citizen Kane (1941) – ‘It’s terrific!’ Bit of an underwhelming thing to say about ‘the greatest film ever made’

The Maltese Falcon (1941) – ‘A story as explosive as his blazing automatics’ I love this one. HOW COOL IS THAT?!

Born to Kill (1947) – ‘The coldest killer a woman ever loved!’ What are you talking about, she’s even worse than him!

Adam’s Rib (1949) – ‘The funniest picture in 10 years!’ Haha, why only 10 years? Why undersell it like that?

Shane (1953) – ‘In all your Motion Picture going experience, Shane will remain forever memorable!’ True but what a bizarre way to put it.

Cover Girl (1944) – ‘The most brilliant musical of our time!’ I don’t know, Meet me in St Louis came out the exact same year.

Meet me in St Louis (1944) – ‘MGM’s glorious love story with music’ See?

These are all brilliant and weird and fabulous in their own way. And there are so many more!

9 thoughts on “The greatest blog post ever written!

  1. My personal favorites are the taglines from “Autumn Leaves.”

    “He was so young – so eager and I was so lonely…”
    and…
    “In the dark, when I feel his heart pounding against mine – is it love? or frenzy? or terror?”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s one of my favorite movies of all time but the tagline does not do it justice at all, in my opinion. It’s a strange aspect of the movie to choose to highlight, when it’s so much more than that. I feel like it’s more fitting for The Women (1939).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

