5 things I love about 5 Katharine Hepburn movies

13938351_651266175049654_1033890144760077196_n

Today is Katharine Hepburn’s birthday. And like every year for the past 10 years, I am having a marathon to celebrate. And of course,  I couldn’t let May 12th go by without writing a little something about her here on the Garden. I’ve already talked about several of her movies and the many, many things I love about her, so today I thought I’d do a fun list of 5 things I love about 5 of her movies. Of course, there are many more, but I’ll leave those for next year.

Here they are!

 

Bringing up Baby (1938)

  • – George, the dog
  • – Baby, the leopard
  • – Major Applegate and Aunt Elizabeth’s banter
  • – The dinner scene
  • – ‘I can’t give you anything but love, Babyyyy…’

Stage Door (1937)

  • – The calla lilies monologue
  • – The dialogue! Especially the insults
  • – Terry (Kate) and Jean (Ginger Rogers)’s relationship
  • – The cast
  • – THAT Andrea Leeds scene

The Philadelphia Story (1940)

  • – All that champagne!
  • – Ruth Hussey’s performance
  • – The swimming pool
  • – The drunken scene with Jimmy and Cary
  • – Dinah performing ‘Lydia’

Woman of the year (1942)

  • – THE LOVE
  • – THE LOOKS
  • – Ahead of its time
  • – The breakfast scene
  • – ‘Do you speak Chinese?’ ‘Fluently.’

Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner (1967)

  • – Spencer’s final monologue
  • – Sidney Poitier’s performance
  • – ‘Glory of Love’ theme tune
  • – Christina’s epic speech to Hillary
  • – How bittersweet it is

 

Happy Birthday, Kate ❤

15 thoughts on “5 things I love about 5 Katharine Hepburn movies

  1. Love the movie choices and the moments!! There are so many wonderful movies to choose from with Ms. Hepburn. Bringing Up Baby is a joy to watch. I love all of the Tracy/Hepburn movies, The Lion in Winter, On Golden Pond, etc etc etc etc. Bonne fete a Kate!!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. maddylovesherclassicfilms

    Such a great actress. I like your choices. My top five are Summertime, The Philadelphia Story, The Lion in Winter, Woman of the Year and Holiday.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mike

    Happy Katharine Hepburn day Carol!! Enjoy your marathon movie watch . I like your takes on the films- you always have a different spin in your blogs which I enjoy 😀😀

    Liked by 2 people

  4. caracoleta07

    A great list of great movies

    Ohhh… Just the other day ‘I had I can’t give you anything but love, Babyyyy’ stuck in my mind 😀

    The insults from Stage Door… I think it’s what remember more clearly about the movie lol

    The drunk scene that had Cary Grant breaking character ahah

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Normally I don’t read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very nice article.

    Like

Leave a comment