ONE MOVIE, THREE QUOTES: A Star is Born (1954)

Image from Pinterest

June 2022, the 10th to be precise, marks the centenary of Judy Garland’s birth. The BFI in my city is having a Judy season and I am, logically, there like a shot. And here at the Garden, we are celebrating the world’s most talented individual with another edition of ONE MOVIE, THREE QUOTES. I’ve talked about Meet Me in St Louis (1944, dir. Vincente Minnelli) here, here and here, so I’ll refrain from going on about it, ‘cause even I am getting on my nerves. But yeah, it’s my all-time favorite musical, without a close second and I love my musicals, so that’s how much I love Meet Me in St Louis! But alas, this time, we’re going back to 1954 with the second version of A Star is Born (dir. George Cukor). You know the story, aging movie star Norman Maine (James Mason, in an Oscar-nominated performance) meets aspiring performer Esther Blodgett (Garland, also nominated), and the two of them get together, as their careers take very different paths. Here are three of my favorite quotes from A Star is Born:

1. ‘I need a job.’ Norman – The repeating of this line as he drunkenly addresses the audience during Esther’s Oscar acceptance speech is just brilliant. His life has fallen apart, he’s finished and he knows it. His old colleagues are there, everyone he’s ever known in the industry is there, and all he can do, out of desperation, is tell them that he needs a job…

2. Esther’s monologue about Norman’s alcoholism – Yes, I know, this is a bit of a cop-out, but I couldn’t leave this one out. Judy Garland’s performance in this scene is something to behold. Heart-breaking, sad and ultimately bittersweet, this was no doubt one of those moments that earned her that Academy Award nomination.

3. ‘Hello everybody. This is Mrs Norman Maine.’ Esther – Curtain.

Happy Judy Garland season!

5 thoughts on “ONE MOVIE, THREE QUOTES: A Star is Born (1954)

  1. mikefilmbuff

    Yes, all 3 quotes are superb with the last one being one of the best closing lines in film history. I think it’s her best performance. Love the” born in the trunk” sequence. Enjoy your Judy celebrations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment